Groundbreaking held for Georgetown Palace Theatre Doug Smith Performance Center

Georgetown, TX – The Georgetown Palace Theatre (The Palace) began a new chapter in its history yesterday with a formal groundbreaking ceremony for the Doug Smith Performance Center. The 14,500 square-foot building will be completed in time for the start of the 2020 summer education programs, and will be fully geared toward performing arts education.

Designs for The Doug Smith Performance Center were approved by HARC in January of 2017. The building, designed by Wang Architects in Georgetown, TX, will contain a 200+ seat performance space, a dance studio with a professional dance floor, 7 class rooms, rehearsal space, 8 bathrooms across all three floors, an outdoor terrace for events and special classes, storage/wardrobe spaces, an elevator and 2 staircases, teachers' lounge and office spaces, and a beautiful lobby. Land for the building was donated by Sam Pfiester, local business owner and friend of The Palace.

This new structure is central to The Palace's growth, with over 600 registrations in the 2018 summer program alone, and over 5,000 students attending classes or shows throughout the school year. "The extra space will allow for continued growth of Educational Programming and allow us to provide educational shows for our students year round" stated Director of Education Jonathan Young.

Board members, staff, community leaders, and volunteers were all present to see this momentous event for The Palace. Williamson County Commissioner Cynthia Long, Georgetown Mayor Dale Ross, Palace Board President Art Rodriguez, and Palace Board member and guest of honor Doug Smith all spoke during the event about the impact this building will have on the community and the benefits students will receive. "The students who attend our educational programs here will go on to make Georgetown, Williamson County, and Central Texas a better place!" stated Doug Smith.



Ariel view taken by Juan Suarez



From left to right: The Palace Board Member Darrell Loyless, board member Michael Davis, board member Rick Rowder, board member Doug Smith, board member Jill Leberknight, Georgetown City Councilwoman Rachael Jonrowe, board President Art Rodriguez, Georgetown Mayor Dale Ross, board member Russ Jernigan, Williamson County Commissioner Cynthia Long, board member Larry Baird, board member John Argersinger, board member Karen Turpin, and board member Carolyn Holloway.



From Left to Right: The Palace student Sloan Francis, The Palace board member Doug Smith, Board President Art Rodriguez, and student Maddie Robbe.

To learn more about the Doug Smith Performance Center and The Georgetown Palace Theatre, go to https://www.georgetownpalace.com/envision/ or contact Development Director, Kristen Smith, at kristen@georgetownpalace.com.